# How to create and manage groups in Genially

> Some Genially plans let you create groups to organize your team members by classes projects departments or any other criteria  Groups allow you to manage ac

Source: https://help.genially.com/en_us/how-to-create-and-manage-groups-in-genially-HyWF9NNwC

Last updated: 2026-03-26T20:32:19.008Z

Some Genially plans let you create groups to organize your team members by classes, projects, departments, or any other criteria.

Groups allow you to manage access and collaboration in bulk, without having to add people one by one to spaces or geniallys. This helps you save time and organize your team’s work more efficiently.

In this tutorial, you’ll learn:

*   What groups in Genially are
*   What types of groups exist
*   How to create a group and add people
*   How to edit or delete a group
*   How to remove people from a group

  

## What are groups in Genially?

Groups are a feature that lets you organize team members into subsets so you can manage collaboration more efficiently. You can add a group as a **collaborator** [to a genially](https://help.genially.com/en_us/how-to-add-or-remove-collaborators-from-a-creation-HJmJqDH2s) or [to a space](https://help.genially.com/en_us/how-to-add-or-remove-collaborators-in-a-space-in-genially-r1fmFEnNWe), and you can remove collaboration whenever you want.

For example, you can create a group for an entire class or for several students working together on a project. Or you can create a group for a marketing campaign in your company and add that group as a collaborator in the Marketing space. You can also reuse the same group structure as many times as you like.

Adding collaboration for a whole group means you don’t have to add people one by one and [manage permissions](https://help.genially.com/en_us/view-only-access-and-edit-access-in-genially-r16m1HnNx). Keep in mind that people who are part of the group instantly inherit the access permissions to the geniallys or spaces that the group has access to.

  

Groups are flexible:

*   One person can belong to several groups at the same time
*   You can add or remove members whenever you want
*   There’s no limit to the number of members in a group

Also, all members participate equally: there is no group owner role.

Take a look at [this page](https://genially.com/plans/) to see whether your plan includes this feature.

  

## Types of groups in Genially

There are two types of groups in Genially: **open and closed** groups. Open groups are designed for open collaboration within the team, while closed groups work by invitation.

  

### Open groups

**Any team member** can see them and join them. Any team member can also delete an open group.

**Open groups** are ideal for temporary collaboration, open communities, or general company departments.

  

### Closed groups

*   You can only access them through an invitation.
*   Only people who are part of the group can see the content shared with the group.
*   Only members of a closed group can delete it.

Closed groups are ideal for classes and groups of students, for strategic teams, or for confidential projects.

  

## How to create a group and add people

To create a group and add people:

1.  Click the team icon in the top-left corner of your dashboard and select **Settings**.
2.  Click the **Create a group** button on the right.
3.  Enter the group name in the window that appears.
4.  Start typing the names of the people you want to add to the group and select them from the list. Just below, you can **mark the group as closed**, as long as your plan allows it.
5.  When you’re done, click **Create**. That’s it!

  

  

## How to edit or delete a group

To edit a group:

1.  Click the team icon in the top-left corner and select **Settings**.
2.  Select **Groups** from the left-side menu. A list of all groups in the team will appear.
3.  Hover over the right side of the name of the group you want to edit and click the three-dot icon. In the menu that appears, you’ll have the option to **rename** the group, mark it as **closed**, leave the group, or delete it.

![](https://cdn.prod2.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/63302dcd394e719f98c84c4c/05d2075ec5c97e2194c4c7f3ff262cb3.gif)

  

**Heads up! If you delete the group**, the people who were part of it will lose access to any spaces they were added to through the group.

  

## How to remove people from a group

1.  Click the team icon in the top-left corner and select **Settings**.
2.  Select **Groups** from the left-side menu. A list of all groups in the team will appear.
3.  Find the group you want to remove the person from. If needed, you can use the search bar and/or filters.
4.  Click the group name to display the list of people who belong to it.
5.  Click the three dots to the right of the name of the person you want to remove and select **Remove from group.** Click **Yes, remove from group** to confirm, and you’re done.
