# Version history

> Have you ever made changes to a creation and then regretted it Or has someone on your team mistakenly modified a creation and you need to undo the changes Wel

Source: https://help.genially.com/en_us/version-history-rJeGhG5tR

Last updated: 2025-08-08T07:57:15.722Z

Have you ever made changes to a creation and then regretted it? Or has someone on your team mistakenly modified a creation and you need to undo the changes? Well, now you can! 

  

**Version history** is available with the Author plan and allows you to restore any previous version. This makes sure that your work and your team’s work are protected. Read on to find out how it works.

  

## How the version history works in Genially

If you have an Author plan, versions of your creations will be saved automatically while editing your creation. A new version is generated every five minutes.

  

You can check your version history at any time, where the list of versions appears, labeled with their date and time. You can also select one and restore it.

  

## **How to check the version history**

From the Editor of any creation, click on the menu in the top left-hand corner and select the **See version history** option.

  

A space will open with the current version in the center and a list of dates on the left side.

  

![](https://cdn.prod2.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/63302dcd394e719f98c84c4c/cbdee09ab9aa6787fcb1ceb6dc66fe10.gif)  

  

From the dropdown menu next to each date, you can see the versions that were saved that day.

  

To review any of the saved versions, click the date and time and it will be displayed in the center space. Use the arrows at the bottom to browse the creation, or click the icon on the right to preview the thumbnails of all pages.

  

![](https://cdn.prod2.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/63302dcd394e719f98c84c4c/660c2a27306ed7d2643690b0206941a6.gif)  

  

  

When you have the version you want to restore in the center space, click **Restore this version**. Click **Restore** again in the confirmation box that appears, and the chosen version will be restored in the Editor. 

  

Note: If you are restoring an old version, be sure to let your team know.

  

If someone restores an old version when **more than one person is editing the creation** at the same time, it is restored for everyone. Everyone working on that creation will move to the restored version. 

  

To exit the version history and return to the Editor, click **Close**.
