# View-only access and edit access in Genially

> During your creative process you might want to show a genially to someone before sharing it publicly but without allowing that person to edit it Sound famili

Source: https://help.genially.com/en_us/view-only-access-and-edit-access-in-genially-r16m1HnNx

Last updated: 2026-01-14T13:00:35.648Z

During your creative process, you might want to show a genially to someone before sharing it publicly, but without allowing that person to edit it. Sound familiar? Then you’re in the right place — in this tutorial, we’ll show you how to do it.

  

When you invite someone to collaborate on one or more of your creations, you can choose whether the invited person has **view-only permission** or **edit permission**.

  

## **What is view-only permission?**

View-only permission is a type of collaboration permission that lets you **give other people access to one or more creations within your dashboard, without allowing them to edit them**.

One of the main advantages of this permission is that the genially is viewed directly inside the dashboard, without needing to share your creation publicly. This allows you to show it while protecting its privacy and avoiding unwanted edits.

If you use this permission to request feedback or review your creations, it’s also very helpful to use [comments](https://help.genially.com/en_us/how-to-add-comments-in-genially-By2jVuZ4eg).

  

## **What types of view-only permission are there?**

View-only permission can be granted either to a creation or to a space.

*   **View-only permission on a creation**: this permission is granted on a single creation. Anyone with edit permissions on a creation can grant this permission, except students and guests. Anyone can have view-only permission, including guests. This means that a person with view-only permission on a creation may or may not be a team member.
    
*   **View-only permission on a space**: this permission is granted at space level, meaning it applies to all the creations contained in that space. This makes it possible to securely give access to all the geniallys in a space without having to add collaborators to each creation one by one.
    

  

## **What is edit permission?**

Edit permission is a type of collaboration permission that can be granted so that **one or more people can edit one or more creations**.

Just like view-only permission, edit permission can be granted **on a creation** or **on a space**.

People who are added as collaborators with edit permission on a creation don’t necessarily have to be team members. If they aren’t, they collaborate on that creation with the guest role.

On the other hand, adding someone as a collaborator on a space does mean that the person becomes a team member. You can read more about collaborations in Genially [here](https://help.genially.com/en_us/what-are-collaborations-at-genially-HJSNxGimyx).

To learn **how to grant view-only or edit permissions on a creation or on a space**, we recommend checking out [this tutorial](https://help.genially.com/es/gestionar-colaboraciones-en-genially-HJmJqDH2s).

And if you’re wondering what it actually means to give someone permissions on a creation or a space — what they can see or what they can access — here’s [another tutorial](https://help.genially.com/en_us/what-happens-when-you-add-or-invite-a-member-or-guest-to-collaborate-in-a-workspace-SkiAoPH3j) that explains it in detail.

  

## **How do I know if I have view-only or edit permission within a space?**

When you access a space where you have view-only permission, you’ll see a label indicating this in the top-left corner of the space.

In this case, you won’t have any option to edit the space or the creations inside it, unless you’re granted edit permission on a specific creation.

If there’s a conflict between permissions, edit permission takes priority over view-only permission, and individual permissions take priority over group permissions.
