# What happens when you add collaborators to a creation or a space?

> You can work solo But as you probably know teamwork gets you further When creating with Genially you can rely on your team members if youre on a team plan

Source: https://help.genially.com/en_us/what-happens-when-you-add-collaborators-to-a-creation-or-a-space-SkiAoPH3j

Last updated: 2026-01-13T16:13:35.796Z

You can work solo. But as you probably know, teamwork gets you further. When creating with Genially, you can rely on your team members (if you’re on a team plan) or invite guests to add their own special touch to your creations.

When managing collaborations, you can add someone as a team member or simply invite them as a guest to a specific creation. You can learn more about the different types of collaborations [here](https://help.genially.com/en_us/what-are-collaborations-at-genially-HJSNxGimyx).

You might be wondering how these collaborations look from the perspective of the people you add, and what exactly happens depending on the type of collaboration you choose. For example: What does it mean to add an external person as a collaborator on a genially? What can they access? Can they copy content? Let’s clear it all up.

  

## **When you add a member to your team**

You can add members to your team if you’re on a team plan and your role allows it. You can find more information about [plans, roles, and permissions in Genially](https://help.genially.com/en_us/team-plans-and-roles-in-genially-everything-you-need-to-know-BkVy3Dr3s) here. And if you want to know how to add a member to your team, take a look at [this tutorial](https://help.genially.com/en_us/add-members-and-assign-roles-in-your-genially-team-rk113wHhs).

When you add a new member to your team, they receive a notification and an email.

To access the new team, the new member can click the current team icon in the top-left corner of the dashboard. A list of all the teams they collaborate in will appear, and they can select the team they want to access.

Once the new member is part of the team, they can access **Team settings**, **create spaces**, and see the spaces they’ve been added to as a collaborator. They’ll also have access to the section, Brand kit, Community, and Trash.

  

## **When you add someone as a collaborator to a space**

If you work with spaces in Genially, you already know that not everyone on your team has access to all team creations. Using [spaces](https://help.genially.com/en_us/how-to-manage-spaces-in-your-genially-team-S1k6ovBhi) is a way to organize your creations while also controlling access to them.

People added as **collaborators to a space** are **always team members**. This means that if you add someone to a space who isn’t yet part of your team, they’ll automatically become a team member.

Anyone you add as a collaborator to a space will be able to see all the creations you store in that space.

  

## **When you add a team member as a collaborator to a creation**

If you want someone to access only a specific creation, without giving them access to the entire space, you can add them as a collaborator to that genially. You can also choose the type of permission they have for that creation: [view-only or edit permissions](https://help.genially.com/view-only-access-and-edit-access-in-genially-r16m1HnNx).

In this case, the person will see the creation in the **Shared with me** section. They won’t have access to the other creations in the space.

  

## **When you add someone who isn’t part of your team as a collaborator to a creation**

When you add someone as a collaborator to a creation, they’re automatically added as a **guest** to the team that creation belongs to. Adding guests to your team is free, and they don’t take up a seat on your team.

When adding guests to a creation, you can also choose whether they have **edit or view-only permissions**. If you want to know how to add someone as a collaborator to a creation, we explain it step by step in [this tutorial](https://help.genially.com/en_us/managing-collaborations-in-genially-HJmJqDH2s).

The invited person won’t be able to see any other team content — only the creation or creations they’re collaborating on. They can access them from the **Shared with me** section in their Dashboard.
